A warm mug of tea delving through cold spanners and fond memories.

Welcome back to The Ladys Great British Tea Room Tour. Now I guess you are wondering why there hasn’t been a post up in a while? Well, over the past few months, mainly the wet and wintry ones The Lady has been enjoying a bit of rest. Having covered around 3000 miles over the past year not just in tea room pootling, but various shows and events. I thought she could do with some down time. While she has been laid up I have been tinkering away in the workshop on another project. Known as “Tramp” a 1953 Jowett Bradford Lorry. Spotted about 4 years ago in a motoring paper by a good friend of mine. Tramp has been laid up for 40 years rather and is scruffy around the edges. Making for a great oily rag motor. As most work during the renovation has been done on a budget doing the best that you can to your ability. My enthusiasm and interest has focused on workshop matters So The Tea Room Tour has taken a bit of a back seat.

20161218_151301

However this year or last as I write this during the manic Christmas shop, although not festive in the slightest, I did discover a rather lovely Raspberry & Lemon loaf cake. From a well known supermarket Morrisons. Which I am currently sampling the last slice, as I just couldn’t decide how much I liked during the other two slices. An interesting fact relating to The Lady and the Jowett car marque in general. Morrisons has a store on the original site in Idle, Bradford. Where Jowetts were built back in the day and on the wall a frieze is shown about the Jowett marque.

20180107_184813

Nearing the end of the year I find winter for me is a time of hibernation and reflection, what can be more cosy than a hot cup of tea and hearty slice of cake? I guess you are expecting me to say that when it comes to the Christmas period, I am first in the queue for the first slice Christmas fruit cake. Sadly its not my list of favourites. (I can see the outrage from here!) Over some of the festive period updating the growing scrap book of where The Lady has travelled to events and journeys that I have been on.

20171229_120024

The Lady has on occasions in the past if the weather has been right. Taken part in a New Year’s Day classic outing. Usually a run blowing out the cobwebs, over to the annual gathering of flat caps and friends huddled around a tea hut discussing the ups and downs of classic motoring. This year I decided it was a bit on the cold and grey side to go venturing anywhere.

Though I shall be making up for it over the year with a few more stops planned for the tour. I hope to drive back to Exmoor to the tea room at Withypool back to where the blog started. Along with fitting in a few rides on various vintage modes of transport in search of a good slice of cake.

So there we have a small chunk of The Lady and her winter activities, I am very much looking forward to the year ahead and sampling some delightful tea spots.

Until next time join myself and The Lady for another helping of The Lady’s Great British Tea Room Tour.

5 thoughts on “A warm mug of tea delving through cold spanners and fond memories.

  1. Alan, is it possible for you to write something similar for the Jowetteer? I am sure JC would appreciate it!
    And so would the members.

    Like

  2. Lovely .,as always, I suppose the designated Friend has to remain anonymous. And he never got offered a piece of cake….. even at Christmas……..Ill be with you in the Lt 15 soon boss.

    Like

  3. I can well understand the need to check more than once whether the cake is up to scratch………It’s the same with a bacon butty. Glad to hear that you will be out and about again soon – I’ve missed the Lady’s perambulations! Come to think of it………I’ve missed the bacon butties too…………..

    Like

Leave a comment