Lady & the Tramp. A tale of roadworthy delights.

Welcome back to another minute helping of The Lady’s Great British Tea Room Tour.  Where have I been?  It’s been a fair while since the sunny tales of my Exmoor escapade.  Though I haven’t stopped sampling the wedges of cake from around the west country.   I have however been cheating on The Lady with a Tramp!   If you recall in an earlier post back in January last year, I was working on “Tramp” a 1953 Jowett Bradford Lorry, which I finally got on the road back in July.  So, I have been spending the summer driving around in a rather ratty looking pick up, motoring around the Somerset & Dorset lanes, along with a bit of fettling and tinkering. 

39467597_10161614453220354_3598784665328025600_o

20180916_144045

Although The Lady has had a bit of rest over the latter part of the summer. She has been attending a few shows over the season, along with a memorable stopover in Watchet for their first 1940s weekend.  Being part of a proud display on the Harbour side, I enjoyed the various trips on the West Somerset Railway once again, including a rather spectacular 1940s evening dance on the station at Minehead.  Over the weekend I sampled a triple layered sandwich of a Victoria Sponge, which I thoroughly enjoyed, a bit of rationing ahead of the dancing in the evening.    

20180915_210040

 So where have I been visiting while on cake patrol;  Well, from wandering around a house of treasures while visiting No.57 in the small town of Ilminster. To exploring an old bus depot over in Dorchester.  Places of intrigue and very much good sources of tea and cake to fill even tiniest spot.   This post is just small update of what has been going on with The Lady and the tour.   I am looking forward to spring ahead when the weather brightens up and the adventures and posts can continue.  In between the pit stops for fuel and appreciating the wonder and amazement of the countryside.  

20181117_121937

A rather yummy Raspberry and White chocolate sponge from No. 57.  I will be adding an appraisal to the blog in the months ahead. 

20181209_115246

The delights of Dorset from the Curiosity Centre with an array of retro china with a hearty slice of Victoria Sponge.   

I still have a pretty long list of places I would like to sample and explore.  I am busy making plans for excursions and plotting some interesting map points along the way.   A few here I have mentioned which I intend to write more of when I bring The Lady out of winter hibernation to start the tour again.     

 

Until next time join myself and The Lady, perhaps even Tramp.  For another helping of The Lady’s Great British Tea Room Tour. 

4 thoughts on “Lady & the Tramp. A tale of roadworthy delights.

  1. It’s good to see you pootling about. I have had my 8HP outside and running since she stayed in Yorkshire for a full overhaul. Mike Kavanagh has done a splendid job

    Like

  2. Although The Lady is lovely-after having spent time with The Tramp-my heart belongs to him! A thoroughly raffish gentleman of the road! And while I wouldn’t knock your choice of cake…have you thought of the delights of, say, Sprout crisps? A true culinary experience !
    Glad to have you back pootling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment